MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION April 16, 2024

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was held on April 16, 2024 at Roselle Middle School. President McGowan called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

I. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl Levine, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek Absent: None

A. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by members of SHS DIVAS – Duffy F., Lyla H., Mackenna K., Ela R., and Addison R.

B. Additions or Changes to the Agenda None.

C. Communications

Member LeVine shared congratulations and appreciation to the following staff members who presented at the April 1st Teacher Institute Day: Mrs. DeForest, Mrs. Schnoor, Ms. Mendoza, Mrs. Lundberg, Mrs. Steiner, Mrs. Tonsager, Mrs. Peters, Mrs. Vainisi, Mrs. DeBolt, Mrs. Miller, Ms. Eagleton, Ms. Winkelman, Mrs. Bethel, Mrs. Hocker, Ms. Thiele, Ms. Bovino, Ms. Jensen, Mr. Molby, Dr. Harris, Ms. Petelle, Mr. Zinni, Mrs. Lynn and Dr. Henderson.

II. Visitor Input

None

III. Election of Temporary Officers

Motion by President McGowan and seconded by Member Zurek that the Board appoint Dr. Mary Henderson as President Pro Tem and Mrs. JoAnn Dumelle as Secretary Pro Tem.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Imran Shakir NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

IV. Board Reorganization

A. Roll Call of Board Members Upon roll call, the following board members answered: James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek.

B. Establishment of Term of Office

Motion by Member Humbert and seconded by Imran Shakir that the Board establish a one-year term of office for President, Vice-President and Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Chris Humbert, Imran Shakir, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

C. Election of the President of the Board of Education Motion by Member Duris and seconded by member Humbert that James McGowan be named President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Sheryl LeVine, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

D. Election of the Vice-President of the Board of Education Motion by Member LeVine and seconded by member Humbert that Kim Duris be named Vice-President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Sheryl LeVine, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

E. Election of the Secretary of the Board of Education Motion by Member LeVine and seconded by President McGowan that Lydia Galante be named Secretary of the Board of Education. ROLL CALL: AYES: Sheryl LeVine, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

F. Establish the 2024-2025 Schedule of Regular Meetings Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Member Shakir that the Board approve the regular meeting dates for 2024-2025 as presented.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Steve Zurek, Imran Shakir, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

V. Superintendent Report

Superintendent Henderson reviewed the following topics with the Board:

- A. Student Ambassador Reports
- B. Monthly Financial Reports

VI. Approval of Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Secretary Galante and seconded by Member Humbert to approve the following agenda items as submitted:

- A. Regular Meeting Minutes for March 19, 2024
- B. Closed Session for March 19, 2024
- C. Accounts Payable for April, 2024

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VII. Action Items

A. Approve Last Day of School for the 2023-2024 School Year.
Motion by Vice-President Duris and seconded by Member LeVine to approve the last day of school for the 2023-2024 school year.
ROLL CALL:
AYES: Kim Duris, Sheryl LeVine, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Imran Shakir, Steve Zurek
NAYES: None

ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VIII. Board Communication and Discussion None.

IX. Social Media Post of the Month

Dr. Henderson shared that all students and staff were able to participate in watching the eclipse. Glasses were donated by Senator Seth Lewis.

X. Closed Session

Motion by Secretary Galante and seconded by Member Zurek that the Board adjourn to Closed Session at 7:16 p.m. pursuant to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(8) Security Procedures, school building safety and security, and the use of personnel and equipment to respond to an actual, a threatened, or a reasonably potential danger to the safety of employees, students, staff, or public property, 5ILCS 120/2(c)(9) Student disciplinary cases and 5ILCS 120/2(c)(1) The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees with action to be taken.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Lydia Galante, Steve Zurek, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Imran Shakir NAYES: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

XI. Return to Open Session

Motion by Secretary Galante and seconded by Member Humbert to return to Open Session at 9:43 p.m.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Imran Shakir NAYES: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

XII. Motion by President McGowan and seconded by Member Shakir that the Board of Education uphold the suspension of 2024_Student A.

ROLL CALL: AYES: James McGowan, Imran Shakir, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Steve Zurek NAYES: None ABSTAIN: None The motion carried.

XIII. Adjournment

Motion by Vice-President Duris and seconded by Member Shakir to adjourn the meeting at 9:47 p.m.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Kim Duris, Imran Shakir, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl Levine, Imran Shakir NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

James McGowan, President

Lydia Galante, Secretary

Date Approved: May 21, 2024